very special people

On any given day at work, I would talk to at least 20 clients but usually more. Some are my own clients, some aren’t. Most of them are from interstate which means that I may work with them closely for up to a year, planning their holidays, solving their problems, and learning about them as people, yet I may never actually have the chance to see them face to face.

Some are friendly, some are gruff. Some outgoing and some are shy. Some are demanding and some are relaxed. And some… well, some I just wish I could crawl through the phone line to wherever they are and give them a big hug.

The retired Minister who signs his emails to me with a “God bless”. The “two merry widows” who travel the world and include me when they send exciting travel stories home. The lady who came into the office to tell me about her holiday and gave me a reassuring cuddle when a relative had just passed away. Every client who requested wedding photos when I came back to work after the honeymoon.

These beautiful people remind me why I do the job I do, but most importantly they remind me how special we all are. When you go to a restaurant, or you have your car serviced, or your phone fixed or whatever you happen to be doing, the person who helps you is a person with a life, a purpose, a story to tell… These beautiful clients of mine know this and in turn, I am lucky enough to be able to get to know them as people too.

One thought on “very special people

have your say!

